

## Marketing of oral artemisinin-based monotherapy medicines at country level

(Last updated on 24 October 2017)

National health authorities taking regulatory measures against the marketing of oral artemisinin-based monotherapies (oAMTs)

Of the 78 national health authorities which need artemisinin-based combination therapies (ACTs), 73 do not authorize the marketing of oAMTs.

5 national health authorities have yet to withdraw their respective marketing authorization for oAMTs.

22 national health authorities 51 national health authorities 5 national health authorities have never registered oAMTs have taken regulatory measures to withdraw still allow the marketing of oAMTs the marketing authorization of oAMTs for the treatment of uncomplicated malaria Afghanistan Bangladesh Angola Cape Verde Botswana Benin Brazil Bhutan Gambia Djibouti Bolivia Somalia Ecuador Burkina Faso Swaziland Eritrea Burundi **Ethionia** Cambodia Indonesia Cameroon Central African Republic Iran Malaysia Chad Nepal China Peru Colombia Philippines Comoros Saudi Arabia Congo South Africa Côte d'Ivoire Democratic Republic of Congo Sri Lanka Suriname Equatorial Guinea Tajikistan Gabon Timor Leste Ghana Vanuatu Guinea Guinea-Bissau Venezuela Zimbabwe Guyana India Kenya Lao People's Democratic Republic Liberia Madagascar Malawi Mali Mauritania Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Niger Nigeria Pakistan Papua New Guinea Rwanda Sao Tome Principe Senegal Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Sudan Tanzania Thailand Togo Uganda Viet Nam Yemen Zambia Zanzibar (United Republic of Tanzania)